Changes

The Lessonslearnedinthebush Blog was created as a place for me to put down stories of the time I spent living and working in the bush.  For a time, after losing my second child, it became the safe, anonymous place for me to probe my feelings without having to approach my grief in a face-to-face fashion.  I could come at it from the side, exploring my thoughts and feeling using events that had happened to me years prior in a happier unrelated time.  However, the past few years I’ve struggled to continue in this way, finding it harder and harder to keep looking back and relating stories from then to the now.

I’ve come to realize that I need a space to just write about the here and now without having to relate it to a specific theme of the wilderness or the bush or things I used to do.  It’s been years since I’ve lived and worked in the bush as a fancy-free, single Western-Canadian girl.   I’ve changed– grown and matured (hopefully). Now I’m a wife, a mother, a school bus driver and a acreage owner.  I still cook, but instead of paying guests, I feed kids and dogs and cats and chickens.  I still ride, but instead of horses, I ride a bike, mountain bike that is.  I still hike when I get the chance, which isn’t as often as I’d like.  And I still explore, maybe not the untouched wilderness, but that areas around my home.  I’m tied down in ways that I wasn’t before and life in some ways doesn’t lend itself to such exciting stories like those I wrote about when I was Jake, but exciting or not, now I just want to write as me, Heather Renee in the here and now from my little lilac-surrounded acreage near Markerville in Central Alberta, Canada.

Maybe you’d like to join me anyways over at my new site as I endeavor to Write it Down https://heatherrenees.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Horse Wrangling in the Yukon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changes

  1. Marie and Wayne kroeker says:

    Heck YES!
    Keep writing and I will keep reading.

    Blessings as you move forward to share a life well lived and living well.
    😊

    Sent from my Windows Phone
    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

